magdalenazdreem:

Being a Godzilla fan myself, and particularly loving Godzilla’s Revenge as much as the author of the following piece, I thought I should share this with you all! Go go GODZILLA!

Originally posted on The Merry Frolics of Teleport City:

I am breaking little new ground when I point out that the original 1954 film Godzilla was a serious sci-fi horror film that is taken seriously by serious critics (seriously!), even the more annoying ones who usually refuse to give genre films the time of day. Few people would argue that it was a cinematic milestone, that it was to the crossover scifi/horror film what Citizen Kane was to movies about grumpy newspaper moguls and what Pee-wee’s Big Adventure was to the road trip film. Whatever the franchise may have become, Godzilla’s contribution to film history was as big as the monster itself, and not even Michael Medved will argue that one. Or maybe he will. I don’t really know him personally, so I can’t account for him.

View original 4,274 more words

